Peter Mac News


2023 Joseph F Sambrook Prize for Research Excellence

29 November 2023

Dane Sambrook

The 2023 Sambrook Prize has been awarded to Dr Katie Fennell, Dr Dane Vassiliadis and Professor Mark Dawson for their 2022 Nature paper titled Non-genetic determinants of malignant clonal fitness at single-cell resolution.

The Joseph F. Sambrook Prize for Research Excellence is awarded annually to the Peter Mac researchers who have made the most important published discovery during the previous two calendar years as judged by the selection committee.

Professor Ricky Johnstone, Executive Director Cancer Research said the judges noted that the science was brilliant and that the paper was highly innovative and would have a significant impact within the scientific community.

“They also said that the while the work was done in one cancer system it had the potential to be used more broadly,” he said.

“This award is incredibly special as it honours Professor Joe Sambrook, the first Director of Research, at Peter Mac.

I would like to acknowledge and thank the Gething-Sambrook Family Foundation who fund the award through the Peter Mac Foundation,” said Professor Johnstone.