Two exceptional Peter Mac staff have been nationally recognised for their services to medicine and medical research.

Peter Mac's Chief Medical Officer Dr David Speakman received the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to medicine, particularly cancer treatment.

Medical oncologist and researcher Professor Clare Scott received was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to medicine, particularly cancer treatment.

Dr Speakman has over 20 years' experience as a breast, skin and melanoma specialist and surgeon. Many Peter Mac patients and families will recognise Dr Speakman, who has been Chief Medical Officer since 2013 and as a clinician is deeply dedicated to patient-centred care and a strong connection between clinicians, patients, their families.

He is the Chair of Breast Screen Victoria’s Quality and Accreditation Committee, and a member of the Clinical Oncology Society of Australia (COSA) Council representing both melanoma and surgical oncology groups. Dr Speakman also remains actively involved in teaching programs for medical, nursing, and allied health students of all levels.

In addition to her work at Peter Mac, Professor Scott also practises as a medical oncologist at the Royal Melbourne and Royal Women's Hospitals, is Professor of Gynaecological Cancer at the University of Melbourne, Chairs the Australia New Zealand Oncology Group (ANZOG), and leads and ovarian cancer focused research laboratory at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute (WEHI).

Peter Mac Chief Executive Professor Shelley Dolan extended her congratulations, "On behalf of all Peter Mac staff, patients and families, I thank you both for your outstanding dedication to care and research. Peter Mac is so fortunate to benefit from your deep expertise and intellect."

Other Queen's Birthday Honour recipients in the medical field included former Australian Chief Health Officer Dr Brendan Murphy and Cancer Council Victoria CEO Todd Harper. NSW Chief Health Officer Dr Kerry Chant, former QLD Chief Health Officer Dr Jeannette Young, and epidemiologist Professor Mary-Louise McLaws from UNSW were also recognised, for their service throughout the pandemic.