Parkville Cancer Clinical Trials Unit

Coordinating cancer clinical trials across the Parkville Precinct

The Parkville Cancer Clinical Trials Unit (PCCTU) is Australia’s largest cancer clinical trials unit, specialising in first in human, phase I, medical oncology, haematology, and palliative care clinical trials. 

In August 2016, the Parkville Cancer Clinical Trials Unit (PCCTU) amalgamated the cancer clinical trials units of Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, The Royal Melbourne Hospital and The Royal Women’s Hospital. The PCCTU is located in the purpose built Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre building in Parkville, Melbourne.

PCCTU Profile

Internationally recognised Investigators with expertise and experience in:

  • The conduct of cancer clinical trials
  • Basic research, translational research and biomarker development
  • Collaborations with national and international Investigators
  • Novel clinical trial design

Ten multi-disciplinary research teams based on tumour stream.

A dedicated clinical trial treatment area and facilities.

Strategically located, PCCTU delivers a precinct service with premier results. This provides access to a comprehensive range of specialised medical services, for example:

  • Shared pathology service
  • Clinical trials pharmacy
  • Imaging
  • Ophthalmology
  • Intensive Care Unit
  • Shared medical record
  • Speciality clinics
  • Translational expertise and leading edge laboratory service

To approach PCCTU with a potential clinical trial, email through:

  • Mutual Confidentiality Agreement in editable word format (if required)
  • Protocol or synopsis
  • Timelines
  • Number of sites
  • Number of participants

To the Feasibility Coordinator and Tumour Stream lead per below stream profiles.

Feasibility Coordinator

Business hours, Monday to Friday
Email [email protected]
Phone +61 3 8559 7350 or +61 3 8559 7958

PCCTU site profile is available through the Shared Investigator Platform (SIP).

The Early Drug Development (EDD) / Phase One team specialises in complex and first in human clinical trials, run by dedicated investigators and research staff with early drug development experience and expertise.

Early Drug Development Lead

A/Prof Jayesh Desai
[email protected]

Clinical Haematology is a unified department formed between Peter Mac and the Royal Melbourne Hospital and is the largest haematology service in the country, offering a broad clinical trials program.

The Clinical Haematology program offers a wide range of advanced research treatments for many of the Peter Mac and Royal Melbourne patients.

Haematology Leads

Acute Leukaemias and Myelodysplastic Syndromes

Dr Ashish Bajel
[email protected]

Hodgkin Lymphoma and Aggressive non-Hodgkin Lymphoma

A/Prof Michael Dickinson
[email protected]

Allogeneic Bone Marrow Transplant

Prof David Ritchie
[email protected]

Chronic Myeloid Leukaemia and Myeloproliferative Neoplasms

A/Prof Kate Burbury
[email protected]

Indolent non-Hodgkin Lymphoma and T-cell Lymphoproliferative Disease

Prof Constantine Tam
[email protected]

Late Effects and Survivorship

A/Prof Kylie Mason
[email protected]

Multiple Myeloma

Dr Amit Khot
[email protected]

Non-malignant Haematology

A/Prof Kylie Mason
[email protected]

The Medical Oncology tumour streams delivers world-class cancer care, backed by an uncompromising commitment to research, clinical trials and evidence-based practice to ensure the best possible outcome for patients.

Medical Oncology Leads

Breast Cancer

Prof Sherene Loi
[email protected]

Gynaecological Cancers

A/Prof Linda Mileshkin
[email protected]

Upper Gastro-Intestinal Cancers

A/Prof Michael Michael
[email protected]

Lower Gastro-Intestinal Cancers

A/Prof Jeanne Tie
[email protected]

Head and Neck and Cutaneous Squamous Cell Carcinoma

Prof Danny Rischin
[email protected]

Lung Cancer

Prof Ben Solomon
[email protected]

Neurological Cancer

Prof Mark Rosenthal
[email protected]


A/Prof Jayesh Desai
[email protected]

Urological Cancer

A/Prof Ben Tran
[email protected]

Melanoma and Skin Cancer

A/Prof Shahneen Sandhu
[email protected]

Palliative Care

A/Prof Brian Le
[email protected]


Professor Mark Rosenthal
[email protected]


Associate Professor Jayesh Desai
[email protected]


Ms Marian Lieschke
[email protected]
Phone +61 3 8559 7140

Deputy Manager

Ms Kylie Shackleton
[email protected]
Phone +61 3 8559 6205

Feasibility Coordinators

Ms Maryanne Turner
[email protected]
Phone +61 3 8559 7350

Ms Diane Pitropakis
[email protected]
Phone +61 3 8559 7469